Dvorak: New World Symphony hero
Dvorak: New World Symphony thumbnail
Sat 24 Feb 2024

Dvorak: New World Symphony

The second of our concerts with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, experience big emotions and great melodies with Artist-in-Residence Zlatomir Fung. Don’t mention the Hovis ad (if you can even remember it), because – with its rousing tunes and sweeping drama – Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, ‘From the New World’ was a favourite with audiences long before television even existed. It’s the exuberant ending to a concert that begins with Beethoven’s extraordinary story of courage, struggle and freedom – the soul-stirring Leonore Overture No. 3Zlatomir Fung then brings all his brilliance, grace and wit to Joseph “Papa” Haydn’s perfectly-cut jewel of a Cello Concerto, under the baton of “a real trailblazer”, Shiyeon Sung. Conductor - Shiyeon Sung Cello - Zlatomir Fung Beethoven - Leonore Overture No. 3 Haydn - Cello Concerto in C Major Dvořák - Symphony No. 9, ‘From the New World’ This season we are delighted to welcome Scala Radio as our media partner for the Guildford International Concert Season, and are proud to introduce The Cheryl King Trust as our charity partner.

Event Details

Ticket Information

£18.25 - £55

A £3.65 transaction fee may apply to your order.


Sat 24 Feb 2024



G Live

Sat 24 Feb 2024
£18.25 - £55 per ticket