Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto hero
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto thumbnail
Sat 1 Mar 2025

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra returns to G-Live under the baton of trailblazing South Korean conductor, Shiyeon Sung and with Artist-in-Residence Johan Dalene to perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D major. A work full of fire and ferocity, both soloist and orchestra have the chance to dazzle in one of the most enduring concertos of the violin repertoire.

To open to concert, a mesmerizing musical journey from dusk to dawn with Sibelius' captivating tone poem, Nightride & Sunrise, depicting the mystical Finnish landscape through the tranquil nocturnal hours and into the resplendent beauty of a new day. Then be transported to Imperial Russia, as Rimsky-Korsakov retells the One Thousand and One Nights stories through music of dazzling colour and unforgettable melody.

Conductor - Shiyeon Sung Violin - Johan Dalene (RPO 2024-5 Artist-in-Residence)

Sibelius - Nightride & Sunrise Tchaikovsky - Violin Concerto in D major Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade

This season we are delighted to welcome Scala Radio as our media partner for the Guildford International Concert Season, and are proud to introduce The Cheryl King Trust as our charity partner.

Please note: For the enjoyment of all those attending, and in respect of those performing, please note that latecomers will not be admitted until the end of a work. Similarly, should you need to leave the auditorium during the concert, re-admittance will also be at the end of the work. For clarity, latecomers and re-admittance is not permitted between movements.

Event Details

Ticket Information

£19 - £55

A transaction fee of up to £3.95 may apply to your order.


Sat 1 Mar 2025



G Live

Sat 1 Mar 2025
£19 - £55 per ticket